Skip to main content

The Cairns Group

Statement of the 39th Cairns Group Ministerial Meeting

Nairobi, Kenya

We, the Ministers of the Cairns Group1, met in Nairobi on 14 December 2015 to discuss our common interests in agricultural trade reform, including the agricultural outcomes of the 10th WTO Ministerial Conference (MC10) and the future negotiating agenda on agriculture.

We reaffirm our strong interest in and support for ambitious agriculture outcomes at MC10, including: the abolition of agricultural export subsidies; new disciplines on other agricultural trade policies that have export subsidy-like effects; and measures designed to address developing Members’ concerns in relation to cotton. We urge all WTO Members at MC10 to confirm these historic and long-sought outcomes.

We express our strong disappointment that, despite continued efforts by Members and by the Cairns Group in particular, it has not been possible to achieve convergence around outcomes in the areas of agricultural market access and agricultural domestic support ahead of MC10.   We stress the fundamental need to address these major unresolved issues as a priority post-Nairobi, in the interests of all Members.

We affirm our willingness to continue working with all WTO Members to explore any and all constructive, practical and pragmatic negotiating approaches to find solutions to these issues. We affirm the Cairns Group’s willingness and capacity to play a leading role in this.

We note that protectionist pressures continue to pose a threat to our shared objective of fair and market-oriented agricultural trade, and call on all WTO Members to put this goal foremost in future negotiations, as well as the ongoing need to ensure compliance with current rules in WTO.

We take the opportunity to reaffirm our continuing commitment – as agricultural exporting nations – to seeking agricultural trade policy outcomes that expand trade and investment in agriculture, promote development, and remove distortions in global agricultural trade.

1 Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, South Africa, Thailand, Uruguay and Vietnam.


Back to top